22-26 October 2018
Hotel Intourist Kolomenskoye 4*
Europe/Moscow timezone

A perspective of gamma-ray bursts registration due to gamma-telescope GAMMA-400

23 Oct 2018, 18:20
Moskvorechye 2 hall (Hotel Intourist Kolomenskoye 4*)

Moskvorechye 2 hall

Hotel Intourist Kolomenskoye 4*

Kashyrskoye shosse, 39B, Moscow, Russia, 115409
Plenary/section talk Facilities and advanced detector technologies Facilities and Advanced Detector Technologies


Irene ARKHANGELSKAJA (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute))


Several thousands of gamma-ray bursts were observed by various experiments, but their sources of origin still remain unclear up to now. During several GRBs very high-energy photons were detected both in space and ground-based experiments (up to some tens of GeV and up to some TeV, respectively).
The GAMMA-400 project will be the new generation of satellite gamma-observatory. Three apertures provide events registration from both upper and lateral directions: main, additional and lateral ones. Its characteristics are better than existing instruments both satellite and ground: energy resolution (~2% at Eγ = 102 GeV), detectors dead time is better than 50 mks, data storage quota ~ 100 GB per day. But fine angular resolution (~10° at Eγ = 20 MeV, ~0.1° at Eγ = 10 GeV, ~0.01° at Eγ = 102 GeV) will be provided only for high energy events registered in the main aperture in the energy band from ~10 GeV to several TeV. It allows making more effective observations of GRBs (better signal to noise ratio), more detailed study of its high energy afterglow due long term measurements (because of high apogee orbit provides low background variations with time) and detailed analysis of the sources luminosity variability (spectral, angular and temporal).

Primary authors

Irene ARKHANGELSKAJA (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute)) Prof. Arkady Galper Yury Yurkin (NRNU MEPhI) Dr. Nikolay Topchiev Sergey Suchkov (Lebedev Physical Institute) Evgeniy Chasovikov (National Research Nuclear University "MEPhI" (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute)) Maxim Kheymits (NRNU MEPhI) Alexey Leonov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute)) Michael Runtso (NRNU MEPhI) Alexey Bakaldin (Scientific Research Institute of System Analysis of the Russian Academy of Sciences) Andrey Egorov (Lebedev Physical Institute) Mr. Yurii Gusakov (NRNU MEPhI, JINR) Prof. Yuri Stozhkov OLEG O.DALKAROV (P.N.Lebedev Institute) Irina Chernysheva (NRNU MEPhI) valery zverev (mephi) Peter Naumov (NRNU MEPhI) Andrey Arkhangelskiy (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute))

Presentation Materials

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now