22-26 October 2018
Hotel Intourist Kolomenskoye 4*
Europe/Moscow timezone

The results of the first experimental series carried out at the NEVOD-EAS shower array

24 Oct 2018, 17:00
Moskvorechye 2 hall (Hotel Intourist Kolomenskoye 4*)

Moskvorechye 2 hall

Hotel Intourist Kolomenskoye 4*

Kashirskoye shosse, 39B, Moscow, Russia, 115409
Plenary/section talk Particle physics: astroparticle physics Particle Physics: Astroparticle physics


Oleg Likiy (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute))


For studying muon bundles arriving at various zenith angles, the method of the local muon density spectra (LMDS) is used at the experimental complex NEVOD-DECOR (MEPhI, Moscow). Estimation of the primary particle energy by means of this method has a rather low accuracy – σ(lgE0) ~ 0.4 – due to contribution of extensive air showers (EAS) registered at different distances from the axis to the events with a fixed local muon density. To reduce the primary energy estimation uncertainties, the NEVOD-EAS air shower array is being created. The array will ensure independent estimation, by means of a traditional technique, of the size, arrival direction and axis position of the showers registered by with other installations and detectors of the Experimental complex NEVOD in the energy range of 10^15 – 10^17 eV.
The first part of the NEVOD-EAS shower array including 7 independent clusters of scintillation detector stations is now launched into operation. The results of EAS detection carried out at the NEVOD-EAS during the experimental series from January to July 2018, as well as results of the analysis of joint events in the shower array and NEVOD-DECOR experimental complex will be presented.

Primary author

Oleg Likiy (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute))


Mikhail Amelchakov (MEPhI) Mr. Vladimir Ardashev (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI) Aleksei Bogdanov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute)) Andrea Chiavassa (Universita agli Studi di Torino) Mr. Lubim Dobrynchuk (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI) Dmitry Gromushkin (MEPhI) Mr. Semen Khokhlov (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI ) Rostislav Kokoulin (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI) Anatoly Petrukhin (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI) Ivan Shulzhenko (National Research Nuclear University MEPhI (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute)) Igor Yashin (National Research Nuclear University MEPHI)

Presentation Materials

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now